| View Thread | Return to Index | Read Prev Msg | Read Next Msg |

ANTIQUE FURNITURE RESTORATION DISCUSSION BOARD

Introducing myself to the forum

Posted By: Roger DeMuth <fero@sbcglobal.net> (adsl-68-72-215-97.dsl.akrnoh.ameritech.net)
Date: 10/7/4 18:33

Hi to all my fellow restorers,

I just found this web site and hope to be a regular contibuter now. I have done refinishing and antique restoration for 30 years - 20 professionally. I'm not a novice but have noticed many people who ask questions are. I have responde to several questions people have posted and I'm sure my fellow pros would disagree with some of that advice. MIght even disagree about my longwindedness (is that a word?). It is easy for a pro to tell someone to get their piece done professionally. More business for us right? Or to tell someone that adding finish to an antique will kill the value and should never be done. Both are true but we live in the real world. Not everyone comes to us for refinishing. There are lots of DIYers out there and most have the sense to leave a valuable piece alone and give it to a pro. And some just don't think they can afford us! They don't realise that $400 to refinish a piece that would cost $2000 new today is a bargain!

My business is based on a customer base where the homes are $500,000 plus, and not all are 25 cent millionaires with a fantastic house furnished with lawn furniture. Not all people are like my customers though and I recognise that. We, as professionals helping DIYers should know that not all can afford $100-200 to buy veneer. I've been there - I know. Lets think outside the bun as it were and come up with ways to make their furniture great with the least expense and effort. Not everyone has the patience of an antique restorer!