| View Thread | Return to Index | Read Prev Msg | Read Next Msg |

ANTIQUE FURNITURE RESTORATION DISCUSSION BOARD

Crib repair/timber joining.

Posted By: Mr. T. <mrtemporal@toosexyforthisdomain.com> (hindburn.open.ac.uk)
Date: 11/29/1 10:22

I've got an old crib which needs a new bottom. I will need to use this piece of furniture in the next few days - the situation is urgent! The good lady can't hold on much longer! I've tried some newsgroups, no joy.

N.B. I'm a complete beginner at antique restoration, but fairly "handy".

Basically, the question is "how is it best to join some pieces of oak batten to the inside of a box?", but here goes the full text:

__

_,-''-,_ <-hood or cowl | \ MINI-VIEW (side) END VIEW .' '. | \______

/ \ | |

| | |__________| (from | | # #

foot) |--/\----/\--| <- bottom end #______#

| | of crib # #

| |

| |

|____________|

# #

# #

# #

# # <- legs

-._ _.-

'-._ _.-' <- curved rocker

'''' The bottom has been bodged at some time ('60s?), by having some softwood battens nailed all around the bottom inside of the box, and a piece of 1" shuttering ply laid inside. Investigations show that (perhaps) originally, there were three 3/8" boards running lengthwise retained in pieces of (elm?) attached to the ends of the crib.

Now, I'm intending that this piece be restored for use, so I've got an upholsterer to make up a new mattress, and I've been cutting boards for a new base, from an old post, which I can tell you is lbooyd hard work! I've now got some nice sawn and part-smoothed boards, but what is the best way to attach them to the crib body, the timber of which is rather wormy. There're two pieces of 1 3/4h 1/2"d x16" strips to be fixed to the crib (from inside) to receive 3" lengthwise strips:

| ______ ______ ______ |

end piece | ------ ------ ------ |

with slots |________________________________|